Previous Winners

The Intervoice Awards are just one way to highlight some of the people, groups and organisations who contribute towards making the world a better place for those of us who hear voices, see visions or have other related phenomena.

The following list details previous winners and those who formed the shortlist for each category.

Hearing Voices Groups & Networks

2016 Winner: Western Mass Recovery Learning Community (USA)

2016 Special Mentions: Amanda Waegeli (Australia), Berni Bushe (Ireland), Hearing Voices Group Kampala (Uganda), Kevin Healey (Canada), Marty Hadge (USA), Mina Aleksic (Serbia), Time & Space (Scotland) and Trevor Eyles (Denmark).


2016 Winner: Kevin Healey – Madx & Hearing Voices Cafe (Canada)

2016 Special Mentions: Listen Up! Project (Hearing the Voices, Durham, UK), Robin Timmers (Netherlands), The Voice (Hearing Voices Group in Shaftsbury Clinic, SWLStG, UK)


2016 Winner: Peter Oud (Netherlands)

2016 Special Mentions: Arnhild Lauveng (Denmark), Carolyn White (USA), David Williams (USA), Eleanor Longden (UK) Listening to Voices – Kate Fiske, Catherine Simmonds, Kelly Bayley, Sarah Sewell and Ros Thomas (Australia), Peter Bullimore, Trevor Eyles.


2016 Winner: Luhrmann et al (2015) Differences in voice-hearing experiences of people with psychosis in the USA, India and Ghana: interview based study (USA/India/Ghana)

2016 Special Mentions: Ian Kelleher (Ireland), Oh et al (2016) Major discriminatory events and risk for psychotic experiences among Black Americans (USA)

Inspirational Person

2016 Winner: Berta Britz (USA)

2016 Special Mentions: Ivan J Barry (UK), Justin Horning (Netherlands)